Navigation Menu

Book Review: The Poser by Jacob Rubin



Year: © 2015 
Genre: Fiction 
Format: ARC; Paperback 
My Rating: ⚡⚡⚡⚡/5 
Sources: Penguin 
Publishers: Viking 





Blurp: 

A hilarious and dazzling debut novel about a master impressionist at risk of losing his true self

All his life, Giovanni Bernini has possessed an uncanny gift: he can imitate anyone he meets. Honed by his mother at a young age, the talent catapults him from small-town obscurity to stardom.   As Giovanni describes it, “No one’s disguise is perfect. There is in every person, no matter how graceful, a seam, a thread curling out of them. . . . When pulled by the right hands, it will unravel the person entire.” As his fame grows, Giovanni encounters a beautiful and enigmatic stage singer, Lucy Starlight—the only person whose thread he cannot find—and becomes increasingly trapped inside his many poses. Ultimately, he must assume the one identity he has never been able to master: his own.

In the vein of Jonathan Lethem’s and Kevin Wilson’s playful surrealism, Jacob Rubin’s The Poser is the debut of a major literary voice, a masterfully written, deeply original comic novel, and the moving story of a man who must risk everything for the chance to save his life and know true love.


My Thoughts: 

The Poser is a great book that will shock older readers. Warning this book did have profanity which I was unaware off while I was reading. However the story was so different. I enjoyed the book and Rubin did a great Jo on this book. While reading the book, I kind of went in not knowing the blurp of it which I recommend all readers do. If I gave you the main storyline then you will spoil the fun of really getting in depth with what the book mainly focuses on. Like most books I read, it did start of slow, but it built up and it shocked me. I really didn't like the bold print contain the ARC but that as the only negative side. I really didn't relate to the characters particularly but that didn't stop me because after page 50 I was hooked. This book help ceer me up when life had its down moments and I couldn't stop laughing.



The Author: 

Jacob Rubin’s writing has appeared in the anthology Best New American Voices, www.newyorker.com, New York magazine, Slate, n+1, and The New Republic. Times Square, a screenplay he co-wrote, was recently acquired by Focus Features. He lives in New York.

0 comments: