Tuesday, June 30, 2015

Blog Tour Book Review: The Crown (Queen of Hearts Saga #1) by Colleen Oakes

                  The Crown 

As Princess of Wonderland Palace and the future Queen of Hearts, Dinah’s days are an endless monotony of tea, tarts, and a stream of vicious humiliations at the hands of her father, the King of Hearts. The only highlight of her days is visiting Wardley, her childhood best friend, the future Knave of Hearts — and the love of her life.

When an enchanting stranger arrives at the Palace, Dinah watches as everything she’s ever wanted threatens to crumble. As her coronation date approaches, a series of suspicious and bloody events suggests that something sinister stirs in the whimsical halls of Wonderland. It’s up to Dinah to unravel the mysteries that lurk both inside and under the Palace before she loses her own head to a clever and faceless foe.

Part epic fantasy, part twisted fairy tale, this dazzling saga will have readers shivering as Dinahs furious nature sweeps Wonderland up in the maelstrom of her wrath.

Familiar characters such as Cheshire, the White Rabbit, and the Mad Hatter make their appearance, enchanting readers with this new, dark take on Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland.

                        My Thoughts

Collen Oakes did it again. She made me enjoy another great book. I was a bit disappointed that I didn't read this book earlier and I was so captivated. This was the first book in the "Queen of Heart's" series and I read them out of place. Instead of reading book no. 2 first I read book no. 1 next so it threw me completely off guard and I was a bit lost. Yes, I did spoil myself for some parts but it wasn't entirely my fault. The basic plot was amusing and did hold my attention but then school had me so busy I just put it down for a couple of days and I felt a little upset because I was drawn to the book. I quenched more for Oakes work and I hope there would be a no.3 coming out soon.The characters and the writing style were great. They were not what I expected to finish of with since I didn't start with them. Great book. Great series. Great author. 

                        Colleen Oakes

Colleen Oakes is the author of books for both teens and adults, including The Elly in Bloom Series, The Queen of Hearts Saga (Harper Collins 2016) and The Wendy Darling Saga. She lives in North Denver with her husband and son and surrounds herself with the most lovely family and friends imaginable. When not writing or plotting new books, Colleen can be found swimming, traveling, blogging, decluttering or totally immersing herself in nerdy pop culture. She currently at work on the final Elly novel and another YA fantasy series. You can visit her webpage at: www.colleenoakes.net or at her very lengthy and sometimes embarrassingly personal blog, The Ranunculus Adventures:


Post a Comment